Minneapolis-St. Paul Regional Cluster Competitiveness Forum, Nov. 22nd

MSP photos.jpg
Friday, November 22, 2013, 8:30 AM to 12:00 PM, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, Cowles Auditorium, 301 19th Ave S., Minneapolis, MN
Register here.

Sponsors: State and Local Policy Program, Humphrey School of Public Affairs; University of Minnesota Center for Integrative Leadership; University of Minnesota Metro Consortium; ULI/Regional Council of Mayors.

The Humphrey School's State and Local Policy Program recently completed a study of twelve competitive industry clusters in the Minneapolis-St. Paul region and the potential for knowledge flows across occupations in basic (exporting) industries within the region. The study was funded with a grant from the University of Minnesota's Metro Consortium. The authors of this study will present their findings and two panels of industry and policy leaders will discuss the potential for emerging clusters and the policy implications for the study.

A copy of the full study is available here.


08:00 - 08:30 AM Coffee and rolls

08:30 - 08:45 AM Welcome and opening remarks, Dean Eric Schwartz, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota. Vision for the Greater MSP Region, Michael Langley, President, GREATER MSP.

08:45 - 09:15 AM Summary of MSP Regional Cluster Competitiveness Study: Lee Munnich, Humphrey School of Public Affairs. Jonathan Dworin, Humphrey School of Public Affairs. Nebiyou Tilahun, University of Illinois, Chicago.

09:15 - 10:15 AM PANEL 1: Emerging Industries in the Minneapolis-St. Paul Region. Moderator: Matt Schmit, Minnesota State Senator, District 21. Robotics - Mike Davin, Editor, The Business of Robotics. Biorenewables - Brendan Jordan, Great Plains Institute and BioBusiness Alliance of Minnesota. Water Technology - Steve Riedel, Minnesota Trade Office, Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development.

10:15 - 10:30 AM Break

10:30 - 11:30 AM PANEL 2: Where do we go from here? Moderator: Steve Kelley, Humphrey School of Public Affairs. Jim Hovland, Mayor of Edina; Co-Chair of Regional Council of Mayors. Tom Fisher, Dean, University of Minnesota College of Design. Peter Frosch, GREATER MSP. Libby Starling, Metro Council. Phil Barnes, Minnesota Department of Transportation.

11:30 - 12:00 PM Audience discussion and closing remarks

Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs